Natural Socialite

Fighting to be Frizz Free | Anti-Humectants & Natural Hair

In Education, Natural Hair, Product Reviews, Products, Socialite Says, Style Guide on April 21, 2011 at 9:01 am

Before

Summertime is quickly approaching and in my super humid climate, that means FRIZZ FEST 2011!  Humidity seems to find me, even if I’m inside hiding behind barricaded doors.  I remember the first time straightening my hair straightened after my big chop, and the horror I experienced when I woke up the next morning to a full-blown fro.  Mortified and hopeless, I was convinced that I would never see my luxurious locks in a straightened state again. It took me visiting a very knowledgeable (and amazing) hair stylist who was also a natural sister herself, to learn that all was not lost.  She educated me on why humidity causes natural hair to frizz, and what I could do to combat my flat-iron reversion. Whether you are natural and wear your hair curly, or choose to break out the flat-iron every now and then…. anti-humectants can be a girl’s best friend.

Now I’m no scientist, so I can’t tell you the science behind what makes this stuff work.  I can just tell you what I know based on a little research & a whole lot of experience (good & bad).  If you need to know the whole molecular mumbo jumbo, then feel free to read this.  If you just want to get the gist of things and have a banging hair day, then read on my dear.

Anti-Humectants are literally moisture blockers that provide a barrier between your hair & the environment while repelling water from the hair.  For obvious reasons,  a good anti-humectant will not be water based.  In many products, the ingredients used for anti-humectants are silicones. This is because they seal your hair against the humidity. They are not very moisturizing but they can be effective.

On the contrary, there will also be times when using humectants are a more favorable choice.  Humectants can help moisturize the hair in dry climates. These products will actually pull the moisture from the environment and help keep your tresses hydrated.

After

My favorite commercial anti-humectant product is hands down the Aveda Brilliant Anti-Humectant Pomade. The Aveda line is typically expensive in general and this product is no exception, so make sure you ask if they have samples available when shopping in the store.  Natural anti-humectant options (to name a few) include  hydrogenated castor oil, palm oil, beeswax, shea butter & castor oil.

Key tips to remember:

1. Know when & where you use your products.  Humectants (dry climates) = add moisture ; Anti- Humectants (humid climates) = repel moisture

2. Make sure your hair is clean, conditioned, detangled, and well rinsed before heat styling.

3. Use a leave in and heat protectant prior to using blow dryers, curling irons, and flat ironing tools. Do not use oil prior to heat styling your hair!

4.  A little goes a long way!  You can always add more product, but once you have used too much…. well…

*Note* My hair lasted about 11 days before “reverting” which is nothing short of a miracle :0)

Aveda Anti-Humectant Pomade Ingredients:

Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Isopropyl Palmitate, C18-38 Acid Triglyceride (Mixed Plant (Melange de Plantes)), Bio-Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate 1 (Source: Coconut (Noix de Coco)), BIS Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate 2 (Mixed Plant (Melange de Plantes)), Castor Oil (Ricinus Communis), Phenyl Trimethicone (Silica (Silice)), Cyclomethicone, Fragrance (Parfum), Glyceryl Laurate (Mixed Plant (Melange de Plantes)), Rice Bran Oil (Oryza Sativa)

  1. […] basic differences between anti-humectant product and humectant products. Below is my favorite  explanation because its really clear and easy to […]

  2. What product did you use when you straightened your hair?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 285 other followers

