Natural Socialite

Carol’s Daughter | (is there really) Beauty in Diversity Campaign

In Education, Natural Hair, Natural Hair News, Self Help Series, Socialite Says on April 15, 2011 at 7:58 pm

CD Founder Lisa Price had found what she calls a diverse group of new spokeswomen to serve as the faces of Carol’s Daughter. Cassie, Selita Ebanks, and Solange Knowles will now serve as Beauty Ambassadors for the multi-million dollar hair & skin care company. Now I don’t know about you, but when I see these ladies grouped together (whom are all definitely beautiful in their own way), the last thing that comes to my mind is the term diverse. I pride myself on trying to see past skin color, but when you title your campaign “Beauty in Diversity”, I feel as if you have indirectly given me consent to call you out on it.

In an exclusive statement provided to YBF.com by Carol’s Daughter Chairman and lead investor, Steve Stoute says,

“I am so happy and proud to have Solange, Cassie, and Selita join the Carol’s Daughter family. They, together with Lisa Price, Mary J. Blige and Jada Pinkett Smith, share our passion of bringing beauty to a variety of skin tones and hair textures.

Um, sir… did you see this picture?  What “variety of skin tones” are you referring to?  Are we now considering Cassie’s half shaved head a new hair texture?  Maybe -1a? Oh, ok…

“Carol’s Daughter doesn’t have just one direct demographic.  Solange’s hair is a different texture than mine.  So is Cassie’s.  Our skin and body types are different.  Today, people are blended, & I think the three of us are a prime example. Women in my family range from vanilla to the deepest chocolate,” said Selita Ebanks in her statement to WWD.

Girl, please.

I have personally supported the Carol’s Daughter line for years now (even before transitioning to natural was ever a thought), and many of her products have provided me with favorable results. I can’t take away anything from the quality of products she provides, whether for my skin or my hair, but I will not fail to voice my opinion about what seems like a blatant attempt to ignore the beauty of sisters like myself who have supported her before she was “mainstream” & advertising on QVC.  I understand that some moves are “business moves”…. I totally get that.  But when you completely cut out the representation of beauty that has helped you to become the beauty mogul that you are today…. .. no ma’am.  At this point, I truly question whether Lisa Price can see the true beauty in diversity.  I am just frankly disappointed that she chose to buy into white America’s depiction of a beautiful African-American woman.

Lisa Price, you have disappointed me.  Despite my undying love for your scrubs, lip glosses, body butters, hair pomades, elixers, and my very favorite, the Tui line…. I must refrain from purchasing your products again.  Now I will finish using the arsenal of CD products in my overflowing cabinets, but all future purchases will be suspended until a public apology is issued & until you adequately represent the beauty of the brown-skinned sistas who loved you when you were just Marguerite’s grand baby.

  1. 2 thumbs up for Natural Socialite! You are definitely representing us!

Leave a Reply

