Natural Socialite

In the News: CNN Report on Hair Loss in Black women

In Natural Hair, Natural Hair News, Self Help Series, Socialite Says on April 28, 2011 at 10:08 am

 

I ran across this article on CNN Health and thought I would share it with you guys.  The article reported information from a study suggesting that hair weaves and braids are causing many black women permanent hair loss.  This made me sit back and take a look at my own “hairstory” and examine all of the unhealthy measures I have taken (in the past) to keep my hair fried, died & laid to the side.  I have vivid memories of my childhood next door neighbor and I trying to get our hair silky with curling irons & hot combs in the privacy of my bathroom. We wanted our hair to look like the glorified straight-haired beauties that we saw in the magazines & on tv, and in my opinion subconsciously felt as if what we had was somehow inadequate.

This article even makes reference to central centrifugal cicatricial alopecia, also known as CCCA, which was at one time known as “hot comb alopecia” because “it was attributed to the use of hot combs to straighten curly hair.”  Wow. 

This isn’t (shouldnt be) news to us. We know the potential dangers of weaves, braids, perms, etc, etc, etc; and how they can cause hair loss, breakage, burns and loss of sight (relaxers) if done improperly.  We know this.  My question is why do we continue to do these things?  Why do we sometimes torture ourselves for beauty?

I’m not trying to get all deep on y’all, but sometimes we really should take a look at ourselves and evaluate why we do the things we do.  I had a happy childhood.  Don’t get me wrong.  My parents were the best that God could have given me, so please don’t even think of going there.  I just want to make sure that if I ever have a daughter that I teach her that she is beautiful just the way she is.  I need her to know that there isn’t anything that she will ever need to alter about her hair, skin etc. in order to fit in to anyone’s standard of beauty.  I will do that by starting with myself.  I am doing that by embracing my own natural beauty.  After all… God makes no mistakes.

Don’t forget to “like” the Natural Socialite on Facebook!

Leave a Reply

