Natural Socialite

Big Chop Socialite | Meet Destinee!

In Hair, Socialite Chop Series on May 3, 2011 at 10:19 am

Meet Destinee!  Destinee is an old college buddy of mine & I selected her to be Natural Socialite’s first Big Chop Socialite feature because she has embraced her Big Chop like nothing I have ever seen! Her confidence is amazing, and I am sure than she will be an inspiration to many readers who are considering taking the plunge!

NS: Why did you decide to go natural?

Destinee: I’ve always wanted to go natural, but was always to afraid. However, I witnessed plenty of ladies take the plunge and decided to JUST DO IT! LOLOL! I developed the mentality that it’s just hair and that it would grow back….so it couldn’t be that bad! I started to transition and VIOLA!

NS: When you first Big Chopped, what was your initial reaction?  How do you feel now?

Destinee: When I first BC’d it didn’t come hard at all…I mean I transitioned for about 2 months…and I was actually ready to get the BC out of the way! Lol! I’ve always had short hair and I wasn’t afraid at all! I was soooo hyped on the way to the barbershop! I didn’t feel like dealing with two textures…so I was GAME!

NS: What kind of feedback did you get from co-workers, friends, and family?

Destinee:  I actually received NOTHING but POSITIVE compliments about my hair! I was very happy about the feedback I received! Everyone told me how bold and courageous I was for cutting my hair off like a boy! Lololol! I even inspired a couple of my friends to go natural! 🙂

 

NS: What are your personal goals for your hair?

Destinee: My personal hair goals are to allow my hair to just do it’s own thing, but most importantly GROWTH! I plan to let my hair grow as long as it will get…hopefully to my waist! Hahahaha! Overall, I plan to take care of my hair to the best of my ability in order to ensure a successful NATURAL hair journey!

 

NS: How do you glam up your look since you’ve big chopped?

Destinee: I usually glam up my look by trying all kinds of things. Cute headbands, hairpins, different lipsticks, eyeshadows, hats, scarfs, and most IMPORTANTLY EARRINGS! Lots and lots of earrings! Sometimes when I’m having a bad hair day HATS (cute ones) and EARRINGS (big ones) usually help me get by! Lol!

NS: What products and techniques do you use to care for your hair post BC? Have you developed your own hair care regimen? 

Destinee: First let me start by saying that I’m NOT a product junkie at all! Lol! I’m currently six months natual and my products are very very small. I currently use Herbal Essence Totally Twisted Conditioner *my fav*, I usually don’t use too much shampoo, because of the sulfates which tend to strip your hair of its original nutrients and also dries your hair out….so I may use shampoo once every 2 mos.  I also use ECO STYLER GEL OLIVE OIL *my absolute favorite gel* I’m never caught without it! Lol! I just recently incorporated Shea Moisture products into my regimen. Also, I have started to use Apple Cider Vinegar (ACV) to wash my hair and I really love how it defines my curls! I also use Cantu Shea Butter Leave-in conditioner as my leave in. Other than those products I dont have any others yet….and I must say that I’m really proud of my hair and its overall health! 🙂

 

NS: What advice can you offer to someone considering a big chop?

Destinee:  I would tell anyone who’s considering the BC…to JUST DO IT! You must first love the inside of yourself, so that you can EMBRACE the outer beauty! It’s not the end of the world and you would be surprised at how BEAUTIFUL you look in the eyes of others! However, if you aren’t comfy with the infamous BIG CHOP….take your time and do what’s best for you on YOUR journey. Either way NATURAL is beautiful long term or short term.  🙂 HAPPY GROWING!

Thanks Destinee!  If you would like to share your Big Chop experience, email me at info@naturalsocialite.com with the subject “Share my Big Chop”.  I will reach out to you with questions for an upcoming feature.  As always, don’t forget to check out the Natural Socialite on Facebook!

  1. Destinee, your hair is BEAUTIFUL! I’m 8 weeks into going natural and ready to see my hair without relaxed ends but afraid of exposing my big apple shaped head with little to no hair. I’ve been short before, but never naturally short. Congrats on making that step! I’ll be following right behind you soon….I hope. *fingers crossed*

Leave a Reply

