Natural Socialite

Surgeon General: Black Women (like myself) Jeopardize(d) Health For Sake Of Hair | The Natural Socialite

In Culture & Lifestyle on September 1, 2011 at 11:02 am

Black hair and health 

According to the United States surgeon general, Black women are harming their health avoiding physical activity because they’ve invested considerable amounts of time and money in their hair.  Unfortunately, this is painfully true….. I’m a witness. 

My decision to go natural allowed me to break free from the excuses of working out, which has in turn allowed me to lose close to 50 lbs since I let go of the creamy crack.  For years, the “I can’t sweat out my perm” excuse caused me to gain more weight than I’d care to admit.

Dr. Regina M. Benjamin, who is Black herself, knows the issues Black women have when it comes to “sweating out” their hair.

“Oftentimes you get women saying, ‘I can’t exercise today because I don’t want to sweat my hair back or get my hair wet,’ Benjamin said.

Dr. Rebecca Alleyne, a breast cancer surgeon in Los Angeles, said she ran, cycled or swam six days a week until a year and a half ago, when she stopped wearing hair extensions, which required little maintenance, and began pressing her hair.

“I noticed I would stop for two or three days when I got it pressed,” she said. “The barrier for me was the $60 and two-and-a-half-hour investment in a hair salon that kept me wanting to preserve my hairstyle.”

I still have a long way to go, but I will never again allow my hair to be the reason I jeopardize my health.  Thank God I’m Natural..

Read the entire article here.

  1. I went natural when I started tai kwon do. My blog picture is the last time i straightened my hair 10/10. It so much easier and healthier.

Leave a Reply

