Natural Socialite

Is a Natural Hair “Sorority” Necessary? | The Natural Socialite

In Culture & Lifestyle on September 21, 2011 at 9:41 am

The group Pi Nappa Kappa was founded earlier this year by Leola Anifowoshe, the self-proclaimed authority on natural haircare, for women of “African descent.”

Anifowoshe’s vision for Pi Nappa Kappa (“Nappa,” of course, isn’t a letter in the Greek alphabet, but an allusion to “natural” or “nappy” hair) is to serve as a group and space where natural hair enthusiasts can voice their concerns, share their stories and support each other towards a healthier lifestyle. The sorority operates under the Natural Healthy Hair Society, which is also run by Anifowoshe.

“It’s about sisterhood, that’s why I call it a sorority,” Anifowoshe told HuffPost BlackVoices.

Nearly 600 women have already pledged the sorority, but Anifowoshe’s goal is to have 10,000 members by the end of the year. There is no hazing or any formal ceremonies involved in the intake process. All that’s required is an electronic signature on the organization’s pledge document.

The pledge states:

As a member of the Pi Nappa Kappa Natural Hair Sorority, I pledge that:1. I am a smart, special, valuable person!
2. I respect myself and I respect others.
3. My words and actions are kind and honest.
4. I will respect the dignity and essential worth of all individuals.
5.I will promote the diversity of opinions, ideas, hairstyles and backgrounds which is the lifeblood of the sorority.
6. I will promote a culture of respect throughout the natural hair community.
7. I will not tolerate bigotry, discrimination, violence, or intimidation of any kind.
8. I will practice personal integrity and expect it from others.
9. I will always be proud of my natural born hair.
10. I accept only my best in all I do.

I am PROUD to be ME!

Some members of real historically black sororities have voiced their distain for the organization’s use of the word “sorority” and what the group stands for.One representative commenter on a YouTube video addressing the need for a natural-hair sorority wrote: “As a member of a real sorority, I do not feel this is necessary. Here’s why. Traditional African American fraternities and sororities were founded, [because] we could not belong to white [organizations]. However, we accept anybody regardless of HAIR TYPE! So, is there a need? NO! [This] sends a message that if you have natural hair, that you don’t belong … not true!”

What do you think about a Natural Hair Sorority? Will you be joining Pi Nappa Kappa?

Read more at the Huffington Post.

Like Natural Socialite on Facebook; Follow Natural Socialite on Twitter

Leave a Reply

