Natural Socialite

DIY Homemade Bath Salts | Best of Martha

In Bath & Beauty, DIY on October 3, 2011 at 9:10 am

I am a huge fan of Queen Martha Stewart and her elegant & creative ideas never cease to amaze me! I have decided to add a series to my blog featuring some of my favorite Martha Stewart DIY’s, recipes & ideas in hopes that they will inspire you like they have done for me.  The first of my “Best of Martha” posts features Martha’s Homemade Bath Salts from Martha Stewart Living. Now I’m truly a girly girl, and bath salts are one of my guilty pleasures when it comes time for me to relax & pamper myself.  One of the best characteristics of all of Martha’s DIY projects is the presentation.  You definitely won’t want to hide these babies under the bathroom sink!  I’m ordering apothecary bottles today!  This project is fun & easy, and will make for great holiday gifts too!

Ingredients & Directions:

Courtesy of Martha Stewart Living

In a large bowl, mix to combine: 6 parts coarse sea salt; 3 parts epsom salts, to soothe tired muscles and reduce inflammation; and 1 part baking soda, to soften waters and alleviate skin irritation. Add a few drops of essential oils, and combine. Add a few drops of food coloring, until you achieve the desired shade. If you intend to present the bath salts as gifts, be sure to store them in a stoppered and labeled container to keep out moisture.

 

Leave a Reply

